Tourist information on where to sleep in the municipality of Supersano (Lecce)

Population: 4682 inhabitants
In total area: 36 kmXNUMX
Density: 129 inhabitants/kmXNUMX

Accessibility : The urban center of Supersano is 40 km from Lecce , the capital of Salento, and can be reached from state road 16 and SS. 275.

Supersano Town Address, Lecce: IV Novembre Square
Tel .: 0833 - 631289

The territory of the municipality of Supersano is located halfway between the Ionian and the Adriatic seas in the southernmost area of ​​the Puglia region.

It is characterised by the presence of modest hills of the Serre Salentine , rich in vegetation and fauna.

In Supersano there are two menhirs, each two metres high.

Both have a cross at the top, a sign of the attempt undertaken over the centuries by the Church to Christianize the aforementioned monuments as they were pagan.

What to visit in Supersano?

Worth a visit is the Crypt of Supersano , dedicated to the Virgin Mary of Coelimanna.

It is of Byzantine origins and is one of the few non-hypogeal as it was dug into the tuff ridge.

It appears as an environment dug into the rock along the Serra di Supersano and is flanked by the Sanctuary of the Madonna di Coelimanna , built in 1746.

The Sanctuary stands at the foot of the Supersano mountain range and is accessed via a large staircase.

The facade is generally simple, almost poor, but inside the splendid Greek cross vault and the central altar of eighteenth-century workmanship act as a counterpoint.

Worth admiring is the papier-mâché icon set in the central altar and depicting the BV of Coelimanna at the moment of her apparition to the shepherdess.

Behind the Sanctuary and adjacent to it is the oldest Byzantine crypt-church of the Blessed Virgin of Coelimanna.

La Mother Church of Supersano is dedicated to Saint Michael the Archangelpatron saint of the country.
It stands on the foundations of a small church that was demolished in 1723 due to its small size and the precariousness of its load-bearing structures.

Supersano Castle has the appearance of a stately palace.

The first nucleus of the castle was built in 1300 and was expanded and modified over the centuries. 

It had some towers of which only one remains, that of the Orsini del Balzo.

Source: comune.supersano.le.it (Puglia)